Thursday, 24 January 2013


Cherished Canadian crooner Ron Sexsmith will release his new album Forever Endeavour on Feb 4, 2013 on the Cooking Vinyl label. Forever Endeavour features another batch of deftly poetic, gently affecting songs that perfectly distil the pitfalls of being human. This record pairs Sexsmith again with producer Mitchell Froom, who, on numerous records over two decades, has framed Sexsmith's music in its most sympathetic surroundings. Noted for his production work with everyone from Los Lobos to Crowded House, Richard Thompson to American Music Club, Froom produced Ron's first three albums and 2006's ‘Time Being’. The heart of ‘Forever Endeavour’ is a batch of songs sparked by an unexpected health scare in the summer of 2011, and it's these tracks that give the album its sorrowful gravitas. "In the middle of a tour last year, they detected a lump in my throat, so I had this period of a few months where I was freaking out about everything,” says Ron, “and that probably explains why some of the songs are so philosophical. The spectre of death was sort of in my head and I was thinking about it all the time until I got the good results. I felt like Johnny Mercer, writing all these 'Days Of Wine and Roses' type songs." The twelve original songs on Forever Endeavour were recorded in 2011 at Froom's Santa Monica studio. Assisting on the sessions were engineer David Boucher and a clutch of seasoned West Coast players that included drummer Pete Thomas, bassist Bob Glaub and pedal steel prince Greg Leisz. Strings were overdubbed afterwards using L.A.'s feted Calder Quartet.
The full tracklisting for Forever Endeavour is:
1. Nowhere To Go
2. Nowhere Is
3. If Only Avenue
4. Snake Road
5. Blind Eye
6. Lost In Thought
7. Sneak Out The Back Door
8. Back Of My Hand
9. Deepens With Time
10. Me Myself and Wine
11. She Does My Heart Good
12. The Morning Light 
Ron will play his biggest show to date when he headlines London’s Royal Albert Hall on March 7 ’13. Further info at:  
“…Sexsmith’s music just gets better…immaculately well-observed songs delivered with sincerity and panache…an uplifting collection of twangy guitars and lovely pianos. 4*” THE GUARDIAN
“…a stellar talent, lyrically and vocally…this 11th studio effort again proves what a class act he is. The heartfelt autobiographical title track is among the best things he’s ever done.” THE SUN
“Cherished Canuck crooner (delivers) a surfeit of classy comforting songs. 4*” MOJO 
“His expertly constructed, sunny-sounding but dark songs mean he’s adored by peers…” Q
“Sexsmith’s 11th album is choc full of (cracking tunes), travelling a sharp-minded melodic path… His voice is an extraordinary beast, rising from laconic mumble to testifying swoon in the space of a few bars.” RECORD COLLECTOR
“Sexsmith is a consummate pop melodicist…he’s a songwriters’ songwriter. ‘Get In Line’ crosses Costello and McCartney. The heart-throbbing hooks of ‘Believe It When I See It’ and ‘Heavenly’ marry a more upbeat Elliott Smith with the divine ache of Rufus Wainwright, minus the melodrama…These are brilliant songs…” UNCUT 
“Sexsmith’s songs are straightforward, amazingly melodic pop. One listen and you’re hooked.” SUNDAY TIMES

Sunday, 20 January 2013


The Hives are a Swedish Garage Rock Band, check them out here. Recently appeared on Jools Holland's New Year's Eve Show