“Revolutions – The Very Best Of Steve Winwood” from his five decade career

Island Records will release the definitive career retrospective of one of the all-time greats of the UK music scene on 7th June 2010. Entitled “Revolutions – The Very Best Of Steve Winwood” it is a portrait of one of the most influential British musicians in rock history, a singer-songwriter, peerless vocalist, guitarist and keyboard player. With tracklistings personally selected by Steve Winwood from his five decade career, “Revolutions: The Very Best Of Steve Winwood” will be available in two high quality formats: a single CD for the casual fan and a four CD deluxe box set including 52 page book for the connoisseur, with sleevenotes by writer Dylan Jones. A child prodigy, Winwood first performed live on stage at the tender age of 8 in his father’s trad jazz band, and joined the Spencer Davis Group at 14. His stunning vocal style was compared to Ray Charles. He left Spencer Davis to form Traffic then later teamed up with Eric Clapton in Blind Faith at the tail-end of the Sixties. Arguably his biggest successes came with his solo work from the Seventies on. In his teens Winwood played in pick-up bands for touring blues legends including Muddy Waters, BB King, Chuck Berry, Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker and Bo Diddley. In a career lasting nearly 50 years he has sold over 50 million albums and several of his songs have become standards, notably ‘Gimme Some Lovin’ (memorably covered in The Blues Brothers film), ‘Keep On Running’, ‘Valerie’, ‘The Low Spark Of The High Heeled Boys’ and ‘Higher Love’. He has been awarded multiple Grammy awards – for ‘Gimme Some Lovin’ and ‘Higher Love’ (a US no 1 in ’86) In 2008 Rolling Stone ranked him no 33 in the 100 Best Singers Of All Time. Throughout his career, Steve Winwood has remained an in-demand session player, and has contributed to landmark albums by a huge array of artists including Jimi Hendrix, The Who, Joe Cocker, Lou Reed, George Harrison, Toots & The Maytals, Marianne Faithfull, John Martyn, David Gilmour, Tina Turner, Billy Joel, James Brown, Etta James, Talk Talk, Paul Weller, and Christina Aguilera among many others.

Steve Winwood is currently preparing for a World Tour with Eric Clapton. UK shows will be: Birmingham NEC (May 18th), and two Wembley Arena shows (May 20, 21).

“Revolutions: The Very Best Of Steve Winwood” full tracklistings are below:

“Revolutions: The Very Best Of Steve Winwood” – Single CD: Pre-order
  • Keep On Running
  • Somebody Help Me
  • Gimme Some Lovin’
  • I’m A Man
  • Forty Thousand Headmen
  • Paper Sun
  • No Face, No Name, No Number
  • Dear Mr Fantasy
  • Can’t Find My Way Home
  • While You See A Chance
  • Valerie
  • Spanish Dancer
  • Higher Love
  • Back In The High Life
  • Roll With It
  • Dirty City
“Revolutions: The Very Best Of Steve Winwood” – 4 CD Box Set

CD 1
  • Keep On Running
  • Somebody Help Me
  • Gimme Some Lovin’
  • I'm A Man
  • Paper Sun
  • Coloured Rain
  • No Face No Name No Number
  • Heaven Is in Your Mind
  • Smiling Phases
  • Dear Mr Fantasy
  • Pearly Queen
  • Forty Thousand Headmen
  • No Time To Live
  • Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring
  • Shanghai Noodle Factory
  • Medicated Goo
  • Withering Tree
  • Well Alright
  • Can't Find My Way Home
  • Presence Of The Lord
CD 2
  • Stranger To Himself
  • John Barleycorn (Must Die)
  • Glad
  • Freedom Rider
  • Empty Pages
  • The Low Spark Of The High-Heeled Boys
  • Rainmaker
  • Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory
  • Something New
  • Walking In The Wind
  • When The Eagle Flies
  • Mozambique
CD 3
  • Vacant Chair
  • While you See A Chanc
  • Arc Of A Diver
  • Spanish Dancer
  • Night Train
  • Valerie
  • Higher Love
  • Freedom Overspill
  • Back In The High Life Again
  • Don't You Know What the Night Can Do
  • Spy In the House Of Love
  • Different Light
  • Dirty City
CD 4
  • This Hammer
  • Waltz For Lumumba
  • When I Come Home
  • Love
  • In The Light Of Day
  • There's A River
  • Hold On
  • The Morning Side
  • Far From Home
  • Holy Ground
  • State Of Grace
  • Why Can't We Live Together
  • Domingo Morning


Popular posts from this blog



Punk-pop of 'Nothing Is As Good As They Say It Is', the 3rd single to be released from Sparks 26th studio album.