Thursday, 24 May 2012


‘My Head Is an Animal’, the debut album from Icelandic alternative folk sensation Of Monsters and Men- #1 in the US iTunes charts, is scheduled for UK release on the 23rd July through Island Records. Of Monsters and Men began as the solo project of Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir however it quickly grew with the additions of friends Ragnar “Raggi” Þórhallsson (co-singer/guitarist), Brynjar Leifsson (guitarist), Arnar Rósenkranz Hilmarsson (drummer), Árni Guðjónsson (piano/accordion player) and Kristján Páll Kristjánsson (bassist) Crafting epic songs inspired by their amazing homeland, fairy tales and personal history, the band went from battle of the bands winners to the breakthrough act at this year’s Iceland Airwaves and SXSW festival. The bands self-released, first single ‘Little Talks’ to date has sold an impressive 400,000 copies and received 3 million views on YouTube. Of Monsters and Men continue to make waves among fans and tastemakers alike. ‘My Head is an Animal’ has already enjoyed huge success in Iceland and Europe. Mirroring that feat in America ‘My Head is an Animal’ entered the iTunes alternative chart at #1 and album chart at #2 however went on to top the album charts one week later. And in Germany the album debuted at #4 on their official album chart. Album opener ‘Dirty Paws’ which will be the first single to be released in the UK on the 21st May, oscillates between chamber pop, raw art-rock and lusty harmonizing folk and is enjoying plays on 6 Music, BBC Radio 1 and Radio2. Elsewhere on the album campfire sing-alongs such as ‘King and Lionheart’ and ‘Six Weeks’ see Nanna’s lustrous vocals take center stage however it’s when Nanna and Raggi launch into their extraordinary harmonies that the real magic happens. Along with a penchant for crafting rising epic pop numbers ‘My Head is an Animal’ has beautifully delicate moments and signal a fully-fledged band destined to win the hearts of musical lovers worldwide. 
  • 10th July 2012 - Oran Mor - Glasgow, Scotland
  • 11th July 2012 - Manchester Academy 3 - Manchester, UK
  • 12th July 2012 - Scala - London, UK
Of Monsters and Men
- July UK tour announced – pre-sales already sold out
- Debut album ‘My Head is an Animal’ debuts at #4 on Germany’s official album charts
- Watch their Jimmy Fallon performance back
Tracks: 1. Dirty Paws, 2. King and Lionheart, 3.Mountain Sound, 4. Slow and Steady, 5.From Finner, 6. Little Talks, 7. Six Weeks, 8. Love Love Love, 9. Your Bones, 10. Sloom, 11. Lakehouse, 12. Yellow Light
“Of Monsters and Men are destined for greatness” – Nylon
“Expect them to be all over the American indie radar shortly”- Rolling Stone
“Nostalgia sets in as soon as you hear Of Monsters and Men.” - Interview Magazine
“Of Monsters and Men’s Little Talks Conjures Mind-Wiping Fantasy” -
“We're predicting that Icelandic folkies Of Monsters and Men will have a breakout year in 2012” – Paste

No comments:

Post a Comment