Wednesday 31 October 2012

Macy Gray's Love Letter to Stevie Wonder

Grammy award winning, 15 million album selling, singer-songwriter Macy Gray, one of the most unique and original artists operating in music today, returns with her brand new album, Talking Book on October 29th. The album is Macy’s love letter to its creator Stevie Wonder and is released in time for the 40th Anniversary of this timeless masterpiece. Gray says, “Talking Book is one of my top five favourite albums of all time, and Stevie is my favourite. This is my own personal gift to Stevie Wonder, for all that I learned from him and for his miraculous songs that change my life every time I hear them. This is not a tribute album or concert, it’s a love letter and a big thank you card on record and on stage.”
Track Listing:
1. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life
2. Maybe Your Baby
3. You And I (We Can Conquer The World)
4. Tuesday Heartbreak
5. You’ve Got It Bad Girl
6. Superstition
7. Big Brother
8. Blame It On The Sun
9. Looking For Another Pure Love
10. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)
Talking Book, universally regarded as a masterpiece, was originally released by Motown on October 28, 1972. The album included a staggering 7 Top 10 Singles including 2 #1 Smashes "Sunshine Of My Life" and "Superstition" and went on to achieve Multi-Platinum status earning Wonder Grammys for Best Male Pop Vocal, R&B Performance and R&B Song. Macy’s “Talking Book” is an all new recording by Macy and her band and was produced by legendary Metallica producer, Hal Wilner. This year is a big one for Gray as she stars in the controversial new film The PaperBoy, directed by Lee Daniels (Precious) and co-starring Matthew McConaughey, Nicole Kidman, Zac Efron, & John Cusack. Since her dazzling debut introduced this singular talent to the masses, Macy has continued to forge an uncompromising musical path beholden only to her own vision.
“The wonderfully off kilter Macy is back to put all those soul diva pretenders in their place” Marie Claire

No comments: