Monday, 29 April 2013

Jessie Ware ‘Imagine It Was Us’ PMR May 13 + ‘Devotion – Gold Edition’ available now

Since it’s release in summer of last year, Jessie Ware’s debut album ‘Devotion’ has become one of the most acclaimed records of the past twelve months, earning the singer fans from all quarters and recognition from the Mercury Prize panel and the Brits. A special album was re-released on April 15, with the addition of four bonus tracks including two previously unheard cuts – ‘Imagine It Was Us’ and ‘Wildest Moments (remix) Featuring A$AP Rocky’. Teaming up again with album collaborator Julio Bashmore, ‘Imagine It Was Us’ has one eye firmly on the dancefloor whilst retaining the sultry soulfulness that Jessie’s voice has garnered so much praise for. One person who has been vocal in his admiration for the South London singer is A$AP Rocky, who earlier this year announced that he was a big fan of hers and wanted to work on something together. This has led to ‘Wildest Moments (remix) Featuring A$AP Rocky’, in which the New York rapper adds his characteristic slow-paced drawl to the track, lending his own angle on the relationship strains the song explores. The other two tracks on the special edition album will no doubt already be known and loved by fans of Jessie. ‘Valentine’, a collaboration with silky-voiced singer Sampha was first released in the early stages of her career on February 14th 2011, whilst it was with their remix of ‘Running’ that fellow PMR-signees Disclosure set the stage for their remarkable ascent over the past year. ‘Devotion’ entered straight in to the Top 5 upon release in August of last year, and has since gone on to be shortlisted for the Mercury Prize, as well as settling comfortably in to the upper ends of many ‘Albums of the Year’ lists in December. Jessie also picked up nominations at this year’s Brit Awards, getting the nod for both ‘British Breakthrough Act’ and ‘British Female Solo Artist’. She is approaching the end of a sold-out UK tour, and will be embarking on a string of dates in Europe and the US in the coming months. 
‘Devotion – The Gold Edition’ tracklisting: 
1. Devotion
2. Wildest Moments
3. Running
4. Still Love Me
5. No To Love
6. Night Light
7. Swan Song
8. Sweet Talk
9. If You’re Never Gonna Move
10. Taking In Water
11. Something Inside
12. Imagine It Was Us
13. Valentine (Jessie Ware & Sampha)
14. Wildest Moments (Ft. A$AP Rocky)
15. Running (Disclosure Remix)

Devotion - The Gold Edition (Deluxe Version) - Jessie Ware  available on iTunes
Devotion - The Gold Edition - Jessie Ware available on iTunes
Single  - Imagine It Was Us

 “Ware knocks her contemporaries for six… a star is born” – The Sunday Times
“A record filled with moments that bring you to your knees” – NME, 8/10
“A genuinely individual statement by an artist who didn't expect to become a pop star, but might struggle to stop it happening anyway” Guardian **** 

No comments:

Post a Comment